Performance Swimming in Kirklees

Artistic Swimming Grades

Progressing in Artistic Swimming

As swimmers progress they will be tested in Figure Grades, Routine Grades and Land Grades. Swimmers will need to achieve a specified grade before they can compete in certain competitions. Each competition will detail the entry requirements.

You can read more about Artistic Swimming Grades by visiting the Swim England Artistic Swimming Hub

Figure Grades

There are 6 Artistic Swimming Figure Grades, which test athletes on their age group figures. The higher the grade, the more difficult the moves.

Each grade has three levels (gold, silver and bronze) giving swimmers the opportunity to improve and perfect their moves.

Higher grades are age-restricted. Swimmers may only attempt Figure Grade 4, 5 and 6 at the appropriate age:

  • Figure Grade 4 – from 1st January of the year they turn 13
  • Figure Grade 5 & 6 – from 1st January of the year they turn 15

Routine Grades

There are five routine grades which provide an increasing test of ability for athletes on their routine skills.

These grades compliment the figure grades and ensure athletes are developing their transitions, speed of movement and hybrids ready for solos, teams and routines as they develop.

Land Grades

These grades were introduced in 2020. Visit the Swim England  Artistic Swimming Hub to find out more.

Grade assessment days

Grade assessments take place throughout the country. BOK Artistic Swimmers usually attend assessments that take place in the North East or the North West.

Find out more about artistic swimming by visiting the Swim England Artistic Swimming website.


By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions